Women’s College World Series Softball Tournament

Lori Manning
Lori Manning

Science educator and school administrator Lori Manning holds a masters of arts in teaching & administration from Webster University. Lori Manning also earned a bachelor’s in exercise and sports science from Oklahoma Baptist University and has over a decade of experience as a softball coach.

The top team in women’s Division I softball is determined by the Women’s College World Series Softball Tournament. The series is the final round of the NCAA Division I Softball Tournament. Thirty-two conference champion teams and 32 selected teams from across the country compete for eight World Series slots. The tournament has been held annually since 1981 and has been held in Oklahoma City for the past 28 years.

The series is broadcast on ESPN. In 2018, the top eight teams were Arizona, Georgia, Oklahoma, UCLA, Florida, Oregon, Florida State and Washington. Oklahoma, the winner of three of the past five tournaments, entered the 2018 series as a favorite to win.